I could be a super hero

by Andrea Baerland


I realise that I sounded like a spoilt emo kid in my last post. But who doesn’t when they are trying to get over the love of their life? Anyway, Sunday was a hot day indeed and I spent it lounging on the terrace reading What I talk about when I talk about running by Haruki Murakami. A thin but amazing book. Already in the foreword Murakami reminded me of something important: Suffering is optional. OK, so maybe he was talking about running, but I believe I can apply this motto to my own life (I don’t run…).

“Here it is: Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional. Say you’re running and you start to think, Man this hurts, I can’t take it anymore. The hurt part is an unavoidable reality, but whether or not you can stand any more is up to the runner himself. This pretty much sums up the most important aspect of marathon running.”  (Haruki Murakami, 2008:vii)

Well…if I can compare my gap year to a marathon, then from now on I choose not to suffer. One great thing happened this summer: I graduated, with a damn fine degree in Journalism and News Media with Human Rights! Another great thing about this summer is that I fell head over heels in love with The Dunwells and their song I could be a king. It sort of sums up the excitement of graduating. So I choose to be a super hero (as cheesy as it may sound). This year that I’m living back home with my parents again I choose to be a super hero-daugther, sister, grand daughter, neighbour, friend and very, very hopefully a super hero-intern.

