A summer that never really started is coming to an end

by Andrea Baerland

I’ll admit that I never had any hopes for this summer to begin with.  No plans. I’ve been working all summer, except for one week in London for graduation. That one summer week in London with 30 degrees. Awesome. For the remainder of the ‘summer’ however it’s been approximately 15 degrees and rain. I got a rocking new rain coat though.

Re-adjusting to my Oslo-mode is tough and I envy those heading back to London in a month. Isn’t it funny how we spend all of our school days yearning for ‘freedom’, work and ‘adult life’, and when we’re finally there all we want to do is go back to school?

It’s not that I don’t want to work, I just want to study further. Imagine I hated school for the first 19 years of my life, and that I laughed in my father’s face whenever he would say that in the future I would consider this the best time of my life. Yeah, maybe at 45 when I have snotty teens for myself.  Not at 21, just about to enter the world of work.

Anyhow, I should have gone to bed hours ago. According to the newspapers Norway is going to experience the warmest summer day yet tomorrow. Cause that’s what we talk about in Norway, the weather. I aim for a sunburn. But from the day after tomorrow I welcome autumn with arms wide open. Autumn in Oslo.

